Where have all the children gone?

Where have all the children gone?
the lonely playground

I miss the way they would run to me when they burst out the door
I miss hearing the stories and dancing to their song
I miss the way they were so ready to come and explore
Where have all the children gone?

I miss the way they hopped up and down eager for a ride
I miss the days their scribbles of art would just come alive
I miss the way they cheered as they ran in stride
Where have all the children gone?

I see them coming, I am hoping today is the day
that they can come out to play
but sadly, they just walk on by so silently,
heading straight inside and forgetting us again.

I miss scoring the winning pass
I miss the jumping and chanting and cheers
I miss the kickballs and games of chase
Where have all the children gone?

I miss the giggles that filled the air as they would climb high
I miss the way they gathered around to pick teams
I miss the rides that soared up to the sky
Where have all the children gone?

I miss the balls bouncing and the swish with each score
I miss the way they always said I was the best at hide and seek
I miss the sounds of happiness that we just couldn’t ignore
Where have all the children gone?

I hear the school bell ring and wait for recess to start
but we are left alone with our broken heart
I see them coming, but they head to the track
while we stay and beg for them to come back.

Where have all the children gone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

